Life after the News of the World: Front pages from the regional Sunday newspapers

During today, I’ve seen a number of tweets from reporters and news editors heading into the office remarking how strange it is not to have the News of the World to go through when they get there.

Doing the Sunday newspapers is a thankless task. You spend a good couple of hours and it can yield nothing. And when there is a local story in the nationals, they tend to be terribly hard to stand up on a Sunday. And then if you are found to have missed a story….

But given the amount of interest in the how the national newspapers were responding to the first Sunday without the NOTW dominating the news stands, I thought it might be worth rounding up the front pages of the regional Sunday newspapers.

There’s no commentary to go with them, I just thought it might be interesting to share the ones I could get hold of on what is the start of a new era for Sunday titles. I’ll add more as I get them:

Sunday Sun - North East

* * *

Wales on Sunday - Wales

* * *

Sunday Mercury

Sunday Mercury - Midlands

* * *

Scotland on Sunday

Scotland on Sunday

* * *

Sunday Mail, Scotland (Ok, I know it's a national but I thought I'd include it as it isn't done in London)

* * *

Derry Journal

* * *

Sunday Life

Sunday Life

Leave a Reply

